Welcome to my website and my very first blog!

jo-jamala

I have set up this site so that I can  complete assignments that are set each week on the Photography course that I started today. I have two cats and I have a feeling that they might be my models several times over the next twenty weeks!

I have owned a DSLR camera since 2012 but the majority of my subjects are animals. I’ve decided to take this course as I’d like to learn more about photography and try and photograph different subjects that I am not as confident with, such as people and landscapes. I am already familiar with the camera controls

I have bought various pieces of equipment over the years and this is what I own as I start the course:

Camera 1:

  • Sony A77ii with three lenses:
    • 55mm – 300mm (which I use the most for animal photography) ,
    • 18mm – 135mm,
    • 30mm macro lens
  • Four batteries. I find that the batteries run out quite quickly so have bought extra batteries that I take with me when I’m out and about

Camera 2:

  • Sony A7 with one lens:
    • 24mm – 70m kit lens
  • Four batteries.

Filters

Both my filters for my a77ii camera only

  • Circular polariser filter (never used)
  • UV filter

SD cards

I buy lots of SD cards for my cameras and always buy class 10. The recommended card is class 10 U3 as they record the data to the card quickly. I would never get anything less than a class 10. This is especially important if you are shooting in continuous mode.

 

Criteria covered in this blog:

Unit 01: 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.7, 2.1, 2.2

 

