In the first class we discussed lenses and wide angles

Using a wide angle.

This means taking a photo while you’re zooming out.

When using a wide angle:

  • You get more information in the picture
  • The perspective elongates – objects appear further apart
  • Distortion – the closer you get to your subject, the more distorted they become

In order to demonstrate this, we were asked to take portrait photos standing at different distances away from the person but without zooming.

My first attempt

(Please note that I did ask permissions from my models before publishing their photographs online.)

I took the following photos in Automatic mode, not realising that the flash had been activated:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


My second attempt

I wasn’t happy with the above results as the flash lightened the photographs so I then changed my setting from automatic to programme to prevent the flash from activating:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s better to zoom in on your subject when taking a photo to avoid this distortion.

Use a wide angle for

  • landscape
  • events
  • groups
  • interiors
  • photojournalism – to put your subject in a context

The numbers on your lens tell you the aperture your lens in capable of. For example, a 3.5 – 5.6 lens is capable of a 3.5 aperture when you zoom out. This changes to 5.6 when you zoom in.

There is a limit as to how close you can get to your subject. This information can also be found on the lens. For example:

  • My macro lens – 13cm
  • My 18 – 135mm lens – 45 cm
  • My 55 – 300mm lens  – 140 cm

Lens types

  • A prime lens give you better quality
  • Zoom lens – photo are not as sharp
  • A 90mm lens would be good for bugs, jewellery or portraits

 

 

Criteria covered in this blog:

Unit 01: 1.5, 1.6, 2.3, 2.6, 2.8, 2.9, 2.10

